Curriculum-The Early years foundation stage framework

The Early years foundation stage (EYFS) is the stage of education for children from birth to the end of the Foundation Year. Children develop quickly in the early years, and early years practitioners aim to do all they can to help children have the best possible start in life. The E.Y.F.S. has 4 themes, these are:

A unique child
Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable,confident and self-assured.

Positive relationships
Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships

Enabling environments
Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners andparents and carers

Learning and development
Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Children who attend Little tinkers preschool will be learning new skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. The ways in which the child engages with other people and their environment through the;

characteristics of effective learning
Playing and exploring, active learning, and creatingand thinking critically – underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner. At Little Tinkers preschool we understand the Characteristics of Effective Learning and the prime and specific Areas of Learning and Development are all interconnected.

Prime areas of learning are fundamental,work together, and move through to support development in all other areas. The 3 prime areas are:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development
The children will be learning to:
* Make relationships
* Develop self confidence and self-awareness
* Manage feelings and behaviour

Physical Development
The children will explore:
* Moving confidently
* Controlling their body
* Handling equipment
* Healthy lifestyles

Communication and Language
The children will be learning to:
* Express themselves effectively
* Enjoy listening to stories, songs and poems
* Listen attentively in a range of situations

Specific areas of learning include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society. The 4 Specific Areas:

The children will be learning to:
* Listens to stories with increasing attention and recall.
* Links sounds to letters, naming and sounding the letters of the alphabet
* Enjoys an increasing range of books.abet.

The children will be learning to:
* Develop an understanding of maths through stories, songs, games and imaginative play
* Use everyday language to talk about mathematical thinking and problem solving
* Become comfortable with numbers up to 20
* Be aware of shapes and space.

Understanding of the World
The children will:
* Explore and find out about the world around them, asking questions about it
* Build with different materials
* Share nan interest about everyday technology and learn what it is used for
* Find out about past events in their lives and their families’ lives
* Find out about different cultures and beliefs.

Expressive Arts and Design
The children will explore:
* Colours and shapes
* Making things
* Role play
* Making music

At Little Tinkers preschool we understand Children learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outsides on a freeflow approach, enabling the children to explore and investigate meeting their individual needs and interests. All learning skills will be taught through weekly topics and half termly themes linked to the childrens interests. We aim for all of children when starting school are happy, confident and independant learners.




What is PALS?
click here

What is Write Dance?
click here

what is Ferre leavers?
click here